Hard work, dedication, perseverance all paid off for 39 seniors at Granite Hills High School, who have worked diligently to receive some well-deserved funds for their college years from 89 scholarships.

Scholarship monies totaled over $450,000, with seniors Estrella Lopez, Sandra Lopez,  and Ayleen Ramos each receiving $90,000 with the U.S. Army G.I Bill. 

Andy Garcia received $73,050 from 14 different scholarships that included $40,000 from Southern California Edison and a $20,000 Scholarship from Coca Cola. He received scholarships from the Porterville Education Foundation, Porterville Breakfast Rotary, Porterville Chamber of Commerce, and Porterville Emblem Club, and Tulare County College Night and Tulare County Board of Realtors Scholarships, CSF Seymour Award and CSF Scholarships, and many more.

Kelly Ann Whited received scholarships totaling $ 46,500 from Fresno State M2S2 and Bartlett Foundation Scholarship, Lucille Strad and Alta Vista Alumni Scholarships. 

Tule River Tribal Council Scholarships of $20,000 were awarded to Emery Hernandez, Jamaya Lewis, and Victoria Peyron.

Patricia Bedolla received $8,500 in scholarships from Zonta Club, Ruiz4Kids, the Bartlett Foundation, and Porterville Breakfast Rotary.

Jazmine Bedolla received $4000 from the Beatrice Tidball Scholarship, as did Arturo Mendoza and  Ricardo Munoz.

Ruiz4Kids awarded $1,000 scholarships to Andy Garcia, Joanna Alcantar, Patricia Bedolla, and Savannah Bugarin.

Mackinzie Thomason received $5,000 from the Porterville Education Foundation Scholarship, as well as $1000 fro m the Tulare County Association of Realtors, and $200 from the GHHS Class of 2002 Scholarship.

Scholarships in are still being distributed to more Granite Hills seniors, but the final amounts in scholarships are still to be determined.

MHS students earn over $200,000 in scholarship money



Plenty of college-bound seniors from Monache High School (MHS) will get a helpful boost for their college careers thanks to various scholarships that were awarded on the evening of May 9.

Over $245,000 was awarded to over 100 hard-working students, making the start of their college experiences a little less stressful.

Madison Giannetto landed herself a $100,000 scholarship given by the Dominican Trustee Scholarship. This was the largest scholarship given out during the ceremony.

Following the pattern of large sums, Hailey Kelley scored herself a $30,000 scholarship from Whittier College.

Ricky Alba scored over $8,000 by receiving ten different scholarships. Some of the scholarships Alba received include monies from American Legion Post 20, California-Hawaii Elks Association, MHS Alumni, and Tulare County School Boards Association.

Other students who landed multiple scholarships are Macey Newkirk, Mia Pengilly and Mikayli Moore, who all successfully grabbed five scholarships a piece.

Three lucky ladies nabbed the Beatrice Tidball scholarship, which pays out $4,000 for a consecutive four years. Caitlin Land, Abigayle Ramboyong and Andrea Vargas will all be receiving a total of $16,000 to push them forward in their college education. 

Burton Educational Partnership Foundation gave out four scholarships to MHS students Priscilla Romero Vargas, Johanna Samano Beltran, Mikayli Moore and Breanna Covain, each for $1,000 a piece.

MHS Alumni gave out a total of ten scholarships for a total of $5,000. The reciepients of the MHS Alumni Scholarships are Mikayli Moore, Tyler Smith, Ricky Alba, Madisyn Baxter, Kylie Keene, Madison Giannetto, Marinah Villagomez, Evette Mendoza, Caitlin Land and Danan Weisenberger. Each student will receive $500.

The PC First Scholarship was awarded to 12 individual students, and are $1,000. These hard-working students are Emily Chapman, Marie LoBue, Gwendalyn Garcia, Tyler SMith, Maria Valdez, Andres Iniguez, Joel Figueroa, Luis Lopez Saldivar, Dustin Vy, Sapphire Trujillo, Evelyn Olivares Arcos and Alexa Barajas.

Ruiz 4 Kidz handed out two scholarships to MHS students Ricky Alba and Macey Newkirk, who will both receive $1,000 apiece.

The Tule River Reservation Tribal Council is promoting the education of five lucky students who will be awarded $500 each. These five students are Troy Nieto, Nichloas Villareal, Jennifer Barella, Myckael Barella and

Jenelle Camarena.

Recommended for you